Institute People

MITUL Founders and Advisors

Tom Alves, Executive Director of the San Juan Education Association, TURN
Jo Anderson, Executive Director, Illinois Education Association
Naomi Baden, Center for Teacher Leadership
Ellen Bernstein, Albuquerque Federation of Teachers, TURN co-director
Tom Blanford, National Education Association
Michael Charney, Cleveland Teachers Union
Patrick Dolan, The Dolan Group
Jim Fraser, Dean of the School of Education, Northeastern University
Linda Gaston-Mounger, Milwaukee Teachers Education Association
Julia Koppich. Koppich and Associates
Mary Mcdonald, Center for Educational Change, Illinois
Tom Mooney, Ohio Federation of Teachers (deceased December 2006)
Susan Moore Johnson, Harvard Graduate School of Education
Lynn Nordgren, Minneapolis Federation of Teachers
Diana Porter, Cincinnati Federation of Teachers
Paul Reville, Massachusetts Secretary of Education, and Harvard Graduate School of Education
David Sherman, American Federation of Teachers
Mark Simon, Center for Teacher Leadership
Louise Sundin, Minneapolis Federation of Teachers
Adam Urbanski, Rochester Federation of Teachers, TURN Director

Read biographies of some our main advisors.

Current MITUL Coaches

  • Naomi Baden
  • Michael Charney
  • Linda Gaston-Mounger
  • Mary McDonald
  • Julia Koppich
  • Lynn Nordgren
  • Diana Porter
  • Mark Simon
  • Louise Sundin

Read biographies of our coordinators and staff consultants


Consultant Bios (PDF)76.59 KB
Elmore_IUsedtoThink_chapter19.pdf69.46 KB